I build walls

People are different and they react differently to similar situations. Recently, I’ve come to realise that my first response to almost everything is to pull away and/or to build walls, if it concerns another human.

I do believe in sharing emotions, grief and happiness, but in the end it is me and me alone who has to deal with whatever goes on in my head and heart. To rely on someone, anyone, unconditionally, hasn’t been in my fortune yet. I just am unlucky in that sense.

I leave, vanish, take a break from people and things – Give it whatever name you want, but I come back with a clear head, always. Depending upon the situation at hand it may take hours or days or weeks but I take that time to introspect and find a balance between emotions and rationale and the probable solutions to my discomfort.

This seems to be working well so far but it too has its downside. During the period of introspection, social interactions and gatherings don’t stop and then it becomes difficult to put up a facade that everything is fine. It weighs down on the soul, heavily. And all emotions come flowing out when one is alone and in the dark. The face you see in the mirror seems no more recognisable till the conflict is resolved and the heart and mind are at peace.

Lemme know how you cope up with a conflict..

3 thoughts on “I build walls

Add yours

  1. Sometimes, even opening up to complete random strangers works. They don’t know you, so you know they don’t care and will have an unbiased opinion or advise. Otherwise, there is always that black box to put it in and lock forever. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑